Lest I forget

It’s been the end of a long week. Already, it’s the end of Week 3 of my practicum and things are going well. I’m loving the school I’m in and my colleagues have been absolutely lovely. It’s really true what they say – find someone to pay you (even though I’m unpaid) to do something you love, and you will never work a day in your life. It’s also astounding what a big difference staff culture and good colleagues can make to your working life. People say you ought to be professional and yes, you can work anywhere and show good work ethic – but honestly, working in an environment where your colleagues are out to tear you down and hog their resources is not conducive to a healthy state of mind.

Unfortunately, I’ve been down to 4 – 5 hours of sleep. After a normal school day I’m tired, but I still work on to 5 p.m. in the office anyway, before heading home. I’ll grab a shower and continue working. It’s not the most efficient but I’m hoping it’s enough to sustain me for the next few weeks.

So why am I writing this post? Just well, it’s been a really long week for me. So now I kinda want to crash in bed. But today is normally stayover night, and I’m stuck waiting on him to get back home before I can follow. Which kind of sucks. I just fell asleep (twice!) in Starbucks.

So I was whining inside to myself – but then I felt kinda ashamed afterwards. How many times before this had he waited on me to come home when I was out partying with my friends while he was comfortably tucked in bed? Instead of falling asleep, he waited till I got to his place at 2 a.m. a few times. So I guess I can exert my patience here.

I am learning, too.

Leave a Reply

